Protein Cheesecake

Last week, we all ate all the chicken and all the eggs.  Maybe all of them in the Tri-State area.  I think my family went through five dozen eggs last week.  No lie.  So when planning for breakfast for this week, I knew I wanted something a little less…eggy.  🙂  Enter: Protein Cheesecake.

This recipe comes from BuiltLean.com and it’s amazing.  Here’s the original:  http://www.builtlean.com/2013/01/23/protein-cheesecake-recipe/

For my version, I used greek yogurt cream cheese for extra protein, skipped the Stevia because vanilla protein power is already sweet enough for me.  I also bumped up the protein powder to 2 cups instead of 1.5.  I used what I had on hand which was MyProtein Whey Isolate, found here: http://us.myprotein.com/sports-nutrition/impact-whey-isolate/10852482.html  I can’t swear it’s any better than any others.  It’s just what I had left.  I really only use vanilla in baking.  I’m a chocolate shake kind of girl.

proteincheesecake

So, here’s my version:

  • 12oz Greek Yogurt Cream Cheese (I used Green Mountain Farms)
  • 10oz Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • 2 Whole Eggs
  • ¼ Cup 2% Milk
  • 2 Scoops Whey Protein
  • 1tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Dash Salt
  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Soften cream cheese by pressing into the side of the bowl.
  3. Add eggs and mix together (I used a handheld mixer)
  4. Add everything else and blend at least 3 minutes
  5. Pour into greased pan
  6. Bake at 325 for 25 minutes THEN TURN TEMP DOWN TO 200 and bake another hour
  7. Slice into 8 servings

When I put the recipe into MFP, the macros were 252 calories, 7f, 10c, 23p for 1/8 of the cheesecake.  I wasn’t upset with that at all.  So, here’s to cheesecake for breakfast!  If you can afford the carbs, it’s pretty great with some fresh fruit and whipped cream on top.

If you have a fancy springform pan, I’m sure this would be gorgeous.  Try it out and share a pic!

If you make it, let me know how you liked it and your favorite way to top protein cheesecake!

 

Leave a Reply

