Taco Soup

My friends joke about how much soup I make and how much I love it.  It’s kinda my thing.  🙂  So don’t be surprised when this blog starts looking like a database of awesome soups…it’s going to happen!  Today’s is my momma’s Taco Soup.  It also appears in the Freezer Cooking post from yesterday, but I wanted to give you the recipe on its own so you can try it before you commit to having a bunch in your freezer.  So, here goes:

2 lbs ground beef (either buy super lean or drain the fat off the less lean cuts)
1 can chili beans
1 can corn, drained
1 can diced green chiles
1 can diced tomatoes (I prefer the ones without added salt)
1 can tomato paste
1 tbsp minced garlic
200g diced onion
100g diced peppers
chopped cilantro
1/2 packet of dry ranch mix (or make your own here: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/homemade-ranch-seasoning-mix/)
1 packet of taco seasoning (I prefer homemade like this one:  http://www.smells-like-home.com/2011/06/diy-taco-seasoning/  Only tweaks: use smoked paprika if you can find it and skip the directions about corn starch…you don’t need that junk)

(Feel free to add more seasonings to taste.  It’s also just fine as written w/ taco seasoning and ranch mix.  If I added one thing, it would be smoked paprika)

Alright, first add ground beef, minced garlic, diced onions and peppers to a soup pot.  When the meat is browned, add 1 C water, the taco and ranch seasonings and mix well.  Then add everything else.  It’ll be really thick.  I prefer it that way because it’s easy to store and freeze, but if you plan to eat it now, add water until it’s your desired consistency.  I usually add a couple of cups for the whole batch.

tacosoup1

This recipe makes 8 servings.  As always, divide them up now so your macros will be correct.  If you followed the recipe as posted, you can search MacroTools Taco Soup in MFP and use my numbers.  It comes out to 280 cal, 10f, 21c, 27p.

Once everyone is making their own taco seasoning, those carbs will come down some.  There are carby thickening agents (and a ton of sodium and other weird things) in the store-bought kind that are affecting the numbers.  I’m planning a seasoning post soon so we can stock your kitchen with healthier versions of the store-bought stuff.  Then we’ll update the macros in recipes like this.

Anyways, I hope you love the taco soup.  My family does.  If you make it, please leave a comment and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

